Since the beginning of the Omani Renaissance, the government has devoted its efforts to implementing the directives of HM Sultan Qaboos bin Said – May God Almighty protect him – in terms of disseminating all levels of education across the country. HM the Sultan has, on frequent occasions, asserted the importance of knowledge and education and the criticality of keeping pace with developments in the field.  

In the light of accelerated development on the international and local levels, it has become vital to train generations of highly educated and qualified youth given the requirements of comprehensive development. This provides the state with competent capacities, able to deal with global changes and new technological realities. This also allows the state to interact with and benefit from all recent developments to shape a highly-educated generation of academics, researchers and graduates to meet the needs of Oman in terms of specialized cadres in all disciplines.  

Attention to higher education in Oman began since the outset of the Sultanate’s Renaissance. In the 1970s, the Directorate-General of Scholarships was established. One of its main sections was the External Scholarships Department. The Department catered to Omani competencies, sending them to study abroad, in various neighboring and allied states, so that these students formed a core group of Omani graduates who later assumed senior positions and contributed to the development and building of the country. The External Scholarships Department was the kernel from which the Ministry of Higher Education was established in 1994.

Since post-secondary studies in the 1970s and 1980s were limited to external scholarships, the scholarship process was organized through the following Royal Decrees:

Higher education institutions began emerging in the early 1980s with the Oman Institute of Banking (currently the College of Banking and Financial Studies) in 1983 to train the workforce needed to work in the banking sector. In addition, the Teachers College (currently the College Applied Sciences) was established in 1984 in order to grant teachers post-secondary education diplomas.

That same year, the Technical Industrial College (currently the Higher College of Technology) was established in order to meet local market needs for vocational specializations. Some health institutions were created at the same time to train Omani nurses to work in public hospitals. The College of Islamic Judiciary, Preaching and Guidance (currently the College of Sharia Sciences) was established in 1986 to train future judges and preachers.

The educational journey of Oman was crowned by the establishment of Sultan Qaboos University in 1986, and the inauguration of the University’s Cultural Center during His Majesty’s visit to the University on December 18th, 2010. HM praised the educational renaissance in Oman and the role of educational and scientific research institutions in promoting renaissance in the country.

Since its establishment by Royal Decree no. 2/1994, the Ministry of Education has been working on improving higher education in Oman. Higher education institutions now encompass many more different fields and disciplines that meet the needs of global development and the job market. This process was not limited to public higher education. The Omani private sector considerably contributed to educational development when it had the opportunity to invest in this field. Indeed, it created private universities and colleges in order to meet Oman’s needs in terms of academically and technically qualified cadres. This process led to more concerted efforts to expand access to higher education which became a goal that everyone endeavors to achieve.

The private sector was also involved in the educational process during the second half of the 1990s by virtue of Royal Decree no. 41/96 on the establishment of private colleges and institutes. Private higher education admits some of the highest numbers of students in Oman since private institutions offer a wide variety of programs across different academic stages: Diplomas, Bachelor’s degrees and Master’s degrees. These institutions also provide programs serving society as a whole, such as vocational, technical and management programs. Language programs (such as English, Spanish, and French) are also provided. Private universities and colleges have concluded agreements with prestigious international universities in Europe, the US, Australia and other countries.

As the 2016 statistics show, the higher education system in Oman comprises sixty-three (63) educational institutions located across the different regions and governorates. They vary in status between universities, university faculties, and specialized institutions. Among these, thirty-five (35) are public educational institutions, including Sultan Qaboos University; six (6) are applied science faculties under the supervision of the Ministry of Higher Education; seven (7) are colleges of technology under the Ministry of Manpower; one is a faculty for Islamic studies under the supervision of the Ministry of Endowments and Religious Affairs; and another a faculty for banking and finance under the Central Bank of Oman, in addition to the higher education institutions, affiliated to the military apparatuses. Furthermore, the Education Council ratified a proposal to turn thirteen medical institutions under the supervision of the Ministry of Health into faculties, in addition to the Higher Judicial Institute affiliated to the Ministry of Justice.

The private higher education institutions are twenty-eight: eight (8) universities and (20) faculties. They play a pivotal role in redressing the admission gap by accommodating the graduate students who could not be admitted to public institutions that have reached full capacity.

Currently, a new law on higher education is in the works, under whose provisions all higher education institutions in Oman, public and private, will be governed.

The student admission and distribution processes for all education levels and categories are organized by the Admission Center, established by virtue of Royal Decree no. (104/2005).

The Center is among the electronic projects set forth by the Ministry to computerize the previously manually processed services. The Center has been managing and further developing the electronic admission system year after year. Throughout the phases of application submission, enrollment, and student distribution to the different public and private higher education institutions in Oman, the center strived to fulfill the principles of transparency and justice.

Since its inception, the center has been linking the different data bases and statistics issued by all the higher education institutions to the statistics on students of different categories and educational pursuits. What is more, the Center bolstered the transparency and clarity standards for admission. As a result, it made it to the list of the world’s best five electronic products in terms of electronic content as part of the WSA International Award held in Venice in 2007. The system was also widely acclaimed regionally and globally, winning many awards.

The higher education institutions are normally under the supervision of different competent authorities, and as it was necessary to set forth coordination policies, mechanisms, and measures among these institutions, one entity under which such coordination could take place had to be established: The Higher Education Council, established by virtue of Royal Decree no. (98/65). The Royal Decree no. (48/2012), however, established an Education Council to replace the Higher Education Council. The decree specified the Council’s jurisdictions, mainly in what related to developing a general policy for all levels and categories of education; managing education in line with the general policy of the state and the requirements of sustainable development, in such a way that achieves the cultural, social, economic, and educational goals of the state; developing and implementing a strategy for education within the framework of the general policy of the state, in coordination with competent authorities.

The Ministry, through the Qualification and Equivalent Recognition Department, provides diplomas ratification and equation services, and recognition services for institutions and educational programs.

The cultural attachés are valued as one of the most important communication bodies between the Omani students studying abroad and the Ministry of Higher Education. This educational, institutional care is provided by (7) cultural attachés and one consulate in Australia.

Moreover, the attachés provide different services, including contacting universities and matching students with the most appropriate institutions. Financial funds are also allocated to the students who were sent to study abroad through these attachés, which follow up the educational outputs of the students and their attendance regularity, and sponsor the cultural activities and national events that the students organize.

In 2010, a Royal Decree was issued, stipulating the establishment of the Oman Academic Accreditation Authority to replace the Accreditation Council. The Authority, which has a legal personality, boasts financial and administrative independence and is affiliated to the Education Council. The new Authority is a continuum of the previous Accreditation Council’s mission to foster quality and accredit the higher education institutions and programs. The goal is to enable the graduates to compete in the job market and to effectively contribute to the sustainable renaissance process that Oman is going through.

The Royal Decree on the establishment of the Authority identified from among its competencies quality management of higher education so that a certain level, fulfilling international standards, is preserved, as well as encouraging the higher education institutions to improve their service quality.

The development of higher education has always been tantamount to an improved scientific research activity as they are complementary. Therefore, Oman sought to develop the scientific research system to become a main pillar of the development of the education system and to serve the development process in Oman across the different disciplines.

Therefore, the establishment of the Research Council by virtue of Royal Decree no. (54/2005) marked a paradigm shift in the history of development in Oman on the different scientific, economic, and social levels. Currently, scientific research is among the main pillars on which the countries of the world rely to advance their societies and evolve their people. Further to the role scientific research plays in advancing the human capacity, it emboldens innovation and creation, builds and develops industries, and contributes to a knowledge-based economy. From among the assigned tasks, the Council developed a national strategy to set the course of scientific research and development in Oman and link it to the sustainable developments plans that the Omani government is implementing for the advancement of Omanis.

 

The Council supports different research and innovation programs, aiming at enabling a generation of researchers to conduct researches in different fields. This is being done by encouraging research initiatives of researchers, each in their field of competence and expertise; fostering the culture of research in Oman, especially among the youth; increasing the number of researches and improving their quality; and developing the innovative capacities of researchers. ​

آخر الأخبار

كرست الحكومة جهودها منذ بداية النهضة المباركة لتحقيق التوجيهات السامية لحضرة صاحب الجلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد المعظم – حفظه الله ورعاه – لنشر التعليم بمختلف مراحله ومستوياته في كافة أنحاء البلاد. ويحرص جلالة السلطان قابوس بن سعيد المعظم-أعزه الله- في كثير من المحافل على التأكيد على أهمية العلم والمعرفة وضرورة متابعة مستجداتهما. 

وفي ظل التطور المتسارع على المستوى العالمي والمحلي، فقد أصبح إعداد أجيال من الشباب المتعلم والمؤهل على مستويات عليا ضرورة ملحة تفرضها متطلبات التنمية الشاملة حتى تتوافر للدولة كفاءات ماهرة قادرة على التعامل مع المتغيرات الدولية ومعطيات التكنولوجيا الحديثة، والمقدرة على التفاعل والاستفادة من كل المستجدات لإعداد جيل من الأكاديميين والباحثين والخريجين من ذوي المستويات التعليمية العليا لسد احتياجات السلطنة من الكوادر المتخصصة في المجالات كافة.

الاهتمام بالتعليم العالي في السلطنة بدأ منذ مطلع النهضة، ففي السبعينيات أنشئت دائرة المعارف والتي كان قسم الابتعاث الخارجي من أهم أقسامها، حيث كان يعتني بالكفاءات العمانية ويبعثها للدراسة خارج السلطنة إلى مختلف الدول الشقيقة والصديقة ليكون هؤلاء المبعوثون النواة التي خرجت عدداً كبيراً من العمانيين ممن تقلد المناصب العليا وساهم في مسيرة التنمية والبناء. ويعد قسم الابتعاث الخارجي النواة الأولى التي تأسست منها وزارة التعليم العالي في عام 1994م.

ولكون الدراسات فوق الثانوية العامة في فترة السبعينات وبداية الثمانينات قد اقتصرت على البعثات الدراسية الخارجية، فقد تم تنظيم عملية الابتعاث من خلال المراسيم السلطانية التالية:

بدأت مؤسسات التعليم العالي في السلطنة بالظهور في بداية الثمانينات بإنشاء المعهد المصرفي العماني (كلية الدراسات المصرفية والمالية، حالياً) في عام 1983م، لإعداد القوى اللازمة للعمل بالقطاع المصرفي، والكليات المتوسطة للمعلمين (كليات العلوم التطبيقية حاليا) في عام 1984م، لإعداد المعلمين حملة الدبلوم فوق التعليم الثانوي.

كما تم في نفس العام افتتاح الكلية الفنية الصناعية (الكلية التقنية العليا حالياً)٬ وذلك لتلبية حاجات السوق المحلي من التخصصات المهنية، كما تم في تلك الفترة أيضاً إنشاء بعض المعاهد الصحية لإعداد الممرضين العمانيين للعمل بالمستشفيات الحكومية، بالإضافة إلى افتتاح معهد القضاء الشرعي والوعظ والإرشاد (كلية العلوم الشرعية حالياً) في عام 1986م لإعداد وتأهيل القضاة والدعاة.

وتوجت المسيرة التعليمية في السلطنة في تلك الفترة بافتتاح جامعة السلطان قابوس في عام 1986م، وخلال زيارة جلالته -أيده الله- لجامعة السلطان قابوس لافتتاح مركز الجامعة الثقافي في (١٨/ ديسمبر/٢٠١٠م)، أشاد جلالته -أعزه الله- بالنهضة التعليمية التي تحققت في السلطنة ودور مؤسسات التعليم والبحث العلمي في الارتقاء بالنهضة التعليمية في السلطنة.

وتقوم وزارة التعليم العالي منذ إنشائها بموجب المرسوم السلطاني السامي رقم (2/1994 )، بالعمل على النهوض بالتعليم العالي في السلطنة، حيث توسعت قاعدة مؤسسات التعليم العالي لتشمل مجالات مختلفة وتخصصات متعددة تلبي احتياجات التنمية الشاملة وسوق العمل، ولم يكن هذا التوسع محصوراً على التعليم العالي الحكومي بل كان للقطاع الخاص العماني الإسهامات الملموسة، بعد أن أتيحت له الفرصة للاستثمار في هذا المجال٬ إذ أنشئت جامعات وكليات خاصة تسهم في سد احتياجات السلطنة من الكوادر المؤهلة علمياً وفنياً، وقد مكن ذلك من تظافر الجهود لاتساع مظلة التعليم العالي الذي يعد هدفاً وطنياً يسعى الجميع إلى تحقيقه.

وتم إشراك القطاع الخاص للإسهام في العملية التعليمية في النصف الثاني من التسعينات بموجب المرسوم السلطاني السامي رقم (41/96) الخاص بإنشاء كليات ومعاهد خاصة. ويعد التعليم العالي الخاص بالسلطنة أحد أهم مؤسسات القبول للطلبة والتي شهدت تنوعاً في البرامج بمختلف المراحل: الدبلوم والبكالوريوس والماجستير، وبتقديم برامج تخدم المجتمع ككل منها: المهنية والتقنية والإدارية. وتقدم برامج تدريس اللغات (كاللغة الإنجليزية والاسبانية والفرنسية)، وترتبط الجامعات والكليات الخاصة بجامعات عالمية معروفة بمكانتها العلمية في أوربا وأمريكا وأستراليا وغيرها من الدول الأخرى.

وتشمل منظومة التعليم العالي بالسلطنة (63) مؤسسة تعليمية، -وفقاً لإحصائيات عام 2016م-، موزعة جغرافياً على مناطق ومحافظات السلطنة، ويأتي تصنيفها بين (جامعات، كليات جامعية، معاهد متخصصة)، منها (35) مؤسسة تعليمية حكومية، تضم جامعة السلطان قابوس، و(6) كليات للعلوم التطبيقية تشرف عليها وزارة التعليم العالي، و(7) كليات تقنية تشرف عليها وزارة القوى العاملة، وكلية للعلوم الشرعية تشرف عليها وزارة الأوقاف والشؤون الدينية، وكلية الدراسات المصرفية والمالية ويشرف عليها البنك المركزي العماني، بالإضافة إلى عدد من مؤسسات التعليم العالي التي تتبع الأجهزة العسكرية. كما أقر مجلس التعليم الموقر مشروع تحويل ثلاثة عشر معهد صحي تشرف عليها وزارة الصحة إلى كلية، بالإضافة إلى المعهد العالي للقضاء التابع لوزارة العدل.

أما مؤسسات التعليم العالي الخاصة فقد بلغ عددها (28) مؤسسة، مقسمة إلى (8) جامعات و(20) كلية.  ولهذه المؤسسات دوراً هاماً في سد النقص في قبول خريجي دبلوم التعليم العام الذين لم تستوعبهم المؤسسات الحكومية.

ويجري العمل حالياً على صياغة قانون جديد للتعليم العالي تنضوي تحت مظلة أحكامه جميع مؤسسات التعليم العالي بالسلطنة، الحكومية منها والخاصة.

ويتم تنظيم عمليات قبول وتوزيع الطلبة على المقاعد الدراسية بجميع مراحلها وتفرعاتها من خلال مركز القبول الموحد الذي أنشئ بموجب المرسوم السلطاني رقم (104 /2005).

ويُعد المركز أحد المشاريع الإلكترونية التي أنشأتها الوزارة لتحويل الخدمات المقدمة يدوياً إلى خدمات إلكترونية، وأدار المركز النظام الإلكتروني للقبول وحرص على تطويره عاماً بعد عام. كما حرص على تطبيق الشفافية والعدالة في إجراءات تقديم طلبات الالتحاق وتوزيع المقاعد الدراسية بمختلف مؤسسات التعليم العالي بالسلطنة (الحكومية والخاصة).

 وساهم المركز منذ إنشائه في ربط قواعد بيانات وإحصاءات جميع مؤسسات التعليم العالي وإحصاءات الطلبة بمختلف فئاتهم ونوع دراستهم، وعزز من معايير الشفافية والوضوح في أسس القبول، ونتيجة لذلك صنف المركز ضمن أفضل خمسة منتجات متميزة في مجال المحتوى والمضامين الإلكترونية على مستوى العالم ضمن جائزة WSA العالمية بالبندقية سنة 2007، كما حصد العديد من الإشادات والجوائز الأخرى إقليمياً وعالمياً.

وبما أن مؤسسات التعليم العالي تتبع عدة جهات اختصاصية ولكون عملية وضع السياسات وتنسيق الإجراءات فيما بين هذه المؤسسات ضرورية، فقد كان حتمياً إيجاد مظلة واحدة تقوم بتلك المهمة، لذلك جاء إنشاء مجلس التعليم العالي بالمرسوم السلطاني رقم (65/98). وصدر المرسوم السلطاني رقم 48/2012 بتشكيل مجلس للتعليم ليحل محل مجلس التعليم العالي، وحدد اختصاصاته على وجه الخصوص رسم السياسة العامة للتعليم بمختلف أنواعه ومراحله، والعمل على توجيه التعليم بما يتفق والسياسة العامة للدولة ومتطلبات التنمية الشاملة، وبما يؤدي إلى تحقيق الأهداف الثقافية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية والعلمية للسلطنة، ووضع إستراتيجية للتعليم في إطار السياسة العامة للدولة بالتنسيق مع الجهات المختصة، والعمل على متابعة تنفيذها.

وتقدم الوزارة من خلال دائرة معادلة المؤهلات والاعتراف خدمات المصادقة على الشهادات، ومعادلتها، والاعتراف بالمؤسسات والبرامج التعليمية التي من الممكن أن يلتحق بها الطلبة في مختلف مراحل الدراسة الجامعية.

وتعد الملحقيات الثقافية من أهم وسائل تواصل الطلبة العمانيين الدارسين خارج السلطنة مع وزارة التعليم العالي، فالرعاية العلمية لهؤلاء الطلبة يتم تقديمها من خلال عدد (7) ملحقيات ثقافية وقنصلية واحدة بأستراليا.

كما تقدم هذه الملحقيات العديد من الخدمات من حيث الاتصال بالجامعات وإيجاد القبول المناسب للطالب. كما يتم صرف المخصصات المالية للطالب المبتعث للدراسة بالخارج عبر هذه الملحقيات، والتي تتولى بالإضافة الى ذلك المتابعة الدورية لنتائج المبعوثين وحالتهم العلمية ومدى انتظامهم في الدراسة، إضافة لرعاية الأنشطة الثقافية والفعاليات الوطنية التي ينظمها الطلاب.

وفي العام ٢٠١٠م صدر مرسوم سلطاني سامٍ بإنشاء الهيئة العمانية للاعتماد الأكاديمي؛ لتحل محل مجلس الاعتماد، وتتمتع بالشخصية الاعتبارية والاستقلال المالي والإداري، وتتبع مجلس التعليم. وجاء إنشاء الهيئة لتكمل المسيرة التي بدأها مجلس الاعتماد السابق في نشر ثقافة الجودة واعتماد مؤسسات التعليم العالي والبرامج التي تطرحها؛ من أجل تمكين الخريجين من المنافسة في سوق العمل، والمساهمة الفاعلة في عملية النهضة الشاملة التي تشهدها السلطنة.

وأوضح المرسوم السلطاني السامي القاضي بإنشاء الهيئة بأنها تختص بالعمل على تنظيم جودة التعليم العالي بالسلطنة، بما يضمن له الاستمرار في المحافظة على المستوى الذي يحقق المعايير الدولية، وتشجيع مؤسسات التعليم العالي على تحسين جودتها الداخلية.

ولقد كان تطور التعليم العالي دائماً موازياً لنشاط البحث العلمي، ويعدان مكملان لبعضهما، لذلك سعت السلطنة إلى تطوير منظومة البحث العلمي لتشكل رافداً أساسياً لتطور نظام التعليم بشكل خاص، ولخدمة مسيرة التنمية في عمان بشكل عام وفي جميع مناحي الحياة.

ولذلك، فقد مثل إنشاء مجلس البحث العلمي بالمرسوم السلطاني السامي رقم (54/2005) نقلة مهمة في تاريخ التنمية العمانية على مختلف الأصعدة العلمية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية وغيرها. فالبحث العلمي في الوقت الحاضر يعد أحد الركائز المهمة التي تعتمد عليها دول العالم جميعا للنهوض بمجتمعاتها والرقي بشعوبها، ففضلا عن دوره في تنمية القدرات البشرية يعد محورا أساسيا في حفز الهمم للإبداع والابتكار وفي بناء الصناعات وتطويرها ومساهما أساسيا في دخول عالم الاقتصاد المبني على المعرفة. وفي إطار المهام المسندة إلى المجلس حرص المجلس على إعداد استراتيجية وطنية تحدد مسار البحث العلمي والتطوير للسلطنة وتربطه مع مسار خطط التنمية الشاملة التي تنفذها حكومة السلطنة من أجل الرقي بالإنسان العماني.

ويدعم المجلس عدة برامج للبحث والابتكار، تستهدف تأهيل جيل من الباحثين في إعداد بحوث في مختلف المجالات، من خلال تشجيع المبادرات البحثية للباحثين في مجالات تخصصهم وخبراتهم العملية، وتعزيز ثقافة البحث العلمي في السلطنة خصوصا بين فئة الشباب، وزيادة أعداد البحوث وتحسين جودتها، وتنمية القدرات الابداعية للباحثين.