Foundation of Health Sciences Institutes

The Ministry of Health has consistently pursued the development of human resources through staff development, training and qualification programs, with Health Sciences Institutes affiliated to the Ministry constantly providing Health Institutions with national qualified cadres in the field of nursing and midwifery. The first Health Sciences Institute was rolled out in 1982. Today, there are (13) Health Sciences Institutes (8) at the Institutes Compound and (5) in the rest of the governorates), in addition to the Foundation Program Center.

Educational Programs:
Health Sciences Institutes currently offer an array of educational programs that fall under the following educational and training categories:

Health Sciences Institutes offer educational programs for bachelor and higher diploma levels. The past three decades were marked by significant developments in the educational process, qualitative growth of the number of institutes and improvement of the quality of educational programs. All programs were reviewed and developed to keep pace with the evolution of the Sultanate’s healthcare system so that students acquire the academic skills necessary to their learning process, skills development and performance level enhancement. Furthermore, these programs now comply with the standards adopted in similar programs offered by Regional and International Educational Institutions.

Outcomes of Health Sciences Institutes:

Up until 2015, (12,809) graduated from Health Sciences Institutes with a Diploma (basic), while (2624) students graduated with a specialized Diploma (post-basic) and a bachelor degree. In 2014, Omanization rates ranged from 52% to 69% for the different health professions (Source: Statistical Yearbook – Ministry of Health 2014).


Table (1) shows the outcomes of the Basic Educational Program in Health Sciences Institutes as part of the 8th Five-Year Plan (2011-2015).

Total General Nursing Information Managers Lab. Technicians Radiographers Physiotherapists Asst. Dentists General Health Supervisors Health Educator for Bachelor Holders Asst. Pharmacists Year
689 485 13 50 26 15 15 18 22 45 2011
539 370 22 38 23 19 14 0 14 39 2012
586 444 0 47 29 18 0 0 0 48 2013
64 9 25 0 1 15 14 0 0 0 2014
553 394 20 43 27 10 18 0 0 41 2015
2431 1702 80 178 106 77 61 18 36 173 Total

Source: General Directorate of Human Resources Development – Ministry of Health (December 2015)

Scholarship Grants Abroad

The Ministry of Health has been consistently keen on granting health sciences national cadres scholarships to study abroad in order to promote them and provide them with the qualifications and expertise necessary to boost their competences, skills and capacities development. Table (2) shows the number of students from Health Sciences Institutes granted scholarships abroad up to December 2015.

 

Table (2): Number of Academics/Students/Individuals from Health Sciences Institutes Granted Scholarships Abroad up to December 2015

Category Qualification Number
Teaching Staff PhD 56
Masters 41
Bachelor 7
Total 104

Source: General Directorate of Human Resources Development – Ministry of Health (December 2015)

International Academic Cooperation:

The Ministry of Health has sought to establish academic cooperation between Health Sciences Institutes and many Regional and International Higher Education Institutions. Those include but are not limited to (US: Villanova University; UK: University of Glasgow, West Lancashire College and the University of Liverpool, Australia: University of Queensland, University of Melbourne, La Trobe University and the University of Sydney; Arab universities in Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait and Bahrain).
Many educational programs have earned recognition from the aforementioned institutions. This helped top graduates in these programs to continue their university education, earning Bachelor, Masters and PhD degrees from these universities, in addition to obtaining specialized diplomas in some professional fields.
The scope of cooperation between Health Sciences Institutes and foreign Higher Education Institutions was expanded to include agreements with certain institutions, the design and implementation of a number of specialized programs, and more recently, the development of a bachelor program in nursing under the supervision of Cardiff University in the UK and a physiotherapy program under the supervision of Glasgow Caledonian University, Scotland.

التعليم الصحي: ملامح وإحصاءات

لقد كانت الإنجازات الكبيرة التي حققتها المعاهد التعليمية التابعة لوزارة الصحة تتماشى مع الرؤية العامة للسلطنة في مجال تنمية الموارد البشرية، حيث أسهمت الوزارة خلال العقود الأربعة الأخيرة برفد المؤسسات الصحية بالكوادر الوطنية المدربة وقامت بنشر مظلة التعليم الصحي في المحافظات ابتداءً من عام 1991م.
ومنذ عام 1991م إلى الآن، تحمل كل سنة تحديات جديدة تؤدي ليس فقط إلى النهوض بالتعليم الصحي ولكن إلى اكتساب طبيعة تعليمية ذات صبغة تنموية متجددة، وقد حملت وزارة الصحة على عاتقها مسؤولية توفير الكوادر البشرية ولا تزال مساعيها مستمرة في استحداث التطورات الأفقية والرأسية في معاهدها التعليمية في مجال تعزيز وتنمية الكوادر الفنية، وتطوير الإمكانات التعليمية المتاحة.
ويؤكد ذلك الإسراع الذي تم في مجال التوسع في المعاهد التعليمية التابعة للوزارة بدءاً من معهد واحد في عام 1982 إلى 17 معهداً في عام 2002م حيث ما زال (13) من هذه المعاهد يعمل حتى الآن بالإضافة إلى مركز البرنامج التأسيسي. توجد معظم الدراسات التخصصية في مجمع المعاهد بالوطية في محافظة مسقط والذي يضم العديد من المعاهد. وأما المعاهد الصحية الموجودة في باقي محافظات السلطنة وعددها (8) معاهد تعمل على تأهيل الكوادر الصحية في مجال التمريض العام والبعض منها يقوم على إعداد الكوادر التمريضية المتخصصة في مجال القبالة.

البرامج التعليمية :

تقدم المعاهد التعليمية الصحية حالياً مجموعة من البرامج التعليمية، والتي تندرج تحت محاور التعليم والتدريب الآتية:

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن المعاهد التعليمية الصحية منذ إنشائها كانت تقدم برامج تعليمية بمستوى الدبلوم والدبلوم التخصصي، وبعد أن شهدت العقود الثلاثة الماضية من مسيرة التعليم الصحي نمواً ملحوظاً وتطوراً نوعياً في أعداد المعاهد والبرامج الصحية كان لا بد أن يتناسب التعليم الصحي في الوزارة مع التوجهات الحديثة في مجالي التعليم والرعاية الصحية فقد تم مراجعة جميع البرامج وتم تطويرها والارتقاء بمستواها من الدبلوم إلى مستوى البكالوريوس، ومن الدبلوم التخصصي إلى مستوى الدبلوم العالي لكي تتلاءم مع متطلبات النظام الصحي والمهنة والكفاءات المطلوبة، وإكساب الدارسين بالمهارات التعليمية التي تمكنهم من استمرارية التعلم وتنمية قدراتهم وذلك للرقي بمستوى أدائهم ، كما أصبحت هذه البرامج تتسم بمطابقتها للمعايير المتبعة في البرامج النظيرة التي تدرس بالمؤسسات التعليمية على المستويين الإقليمي والعالمي .

مخرجات المعاهد الصحية :

لقد بلغ عدد خريجو المعاهد حتى عام 2015م (12,809) طالباً وطالبة على مستوى الدبلوم (الأساسي)، و(2624) طالباً وطالبة على مستوى الدبلوم التخصصي (بعد الأساسي) والبكالوريوس. وهذا يعتبر علامة بارزة لإنجازات وزارة الصحة في مجال تنمية الموارد البشرية وإضافة حضارية في مجال التنمية الصحية وتعمين الكوادر الصحية حيث تراوحت نسبة التعمين في عام 2014م ما بين 52% إلى 69% (المصدر: كتاب الإحصاء السنوي - وزارة الصحة 2014م).
وجدول رقم (1) يوضح مخرجات المعاهد الصحية التابعة لوزارة الصحة لبرنامج التعليم الأساسي خلال الخطة الخمسية الثامنة (2011-2015). يلاحظ من الجدول أن عدد الخريجين في عام 2014م انخفض إلى (64) خريجاً، ويعود ذلك بسبب إدخال السنة التأسيسية في العام الأكاديمي 2011/2012م لتلبية متطلبات برامج التعليم العالي. علما بأنه في عام 2011 تم إيقاف برنامجي التثقيف الصحي والمراقبة الصحية العامة.
 

جدول (1): مخرجات المعاهد الصحية التابعة لوزارة الصحة لبرنامج التعليم الأساسي خلال الأعوام (2011-2015)

المجمــوع التمريض العام # إدارة
المعلومات
علوم المختبرات الطبية تصوير بالأشعة علاج طبيعي مساعدي جراحة الأسنان المراقبة الصحية العامة التثقيف الصحي لحملة البكالوريوس مساعدي الصيدلة السنوات
689 485 13 50 26 15 15 18 22 45 2011
539 370 22 38 23 19 14 0 14 39 2012
586 444 0 47 29 18 0 0 0 48 2013
64 9 25 0 1 15 14 0 0 0 2014
553 394 20 43 27 10 18 0 0 41 2015
2431 1702 80 178

106

77 61 18

36

173

الإجمالي
المصدر: المديرية العامة لتنمية الموارد البشرية – وزارة الصحة (ديسمبر 2015)

البعثات

لقد شرعت الوزارة في إعداد وتأهيل الكوادر الوطنية القادرة على الإسهام الإيجابي في تحقيق الأهداف المرجوة وذلك ضمن إطار السياسات والبرامج الموضوعة، حيث بلغ عدد المبتعثين من المعاهد الصحية الذين بدأوا الدراسة خلال عام 2015م (38) مبتعثاً، منهم (28) ماجستير و (9) دكتوراة. وقد بلغ عدد المبتعثين المستمرين في الدراسة بالمعاهد الصحية (106) مبتعث في عام 2015م، منهم (56) دكتوراه و (41) ماجستير و (7) بكالوريوس (جدول رقم 2). وتتوافق هذه الأعداد مع خطط الوزارة المتعلقة بتعمين هيئة التدريس ورفع كفاءتها بالمعاهد الصحية.  
 

جدول رقم (2) اعداد المبتعثين من المعاهد الصحية المستمرون في الدراسة لنهاية ديسمبر2015م

الفئات المؤهل العدد
هيئة تدريس دكتوراه 56
ماجستير 41
بكالوريوس 7
المجموع 104
المصدر: المديرية العامة لتنمية الموارد البشرية – وزارة الصحة (ديسمبر 2015)

التعاون الأكاديمي الدولي:

لقد أقامت وزارة الصحة ممثلة في المعاهد الصحية علاقات أكاديمية مع العديد من مؤسسات التعليم العالي الإقليمية والعالمية مثال على ذلك وليس للحصر (جامعة فيلانوفا الإمريكية ، جامعة جالاسكو وجامعة غرب لانكشير ، جامعة ليفروبول ، جامعة كونيز لاند ، جامعة ماليبورن ، جامعة لاتروب ، جامعة سيدني باستراليا ، الجامعات العربية بجمهورية مصر العربية، والمملكة الأردنية الهاشمية، ودولة الكويت، ومملكة البحرين).
لقد نالت العديد من البرامج التعليمية الاعتراف من قبل هذه المؤسسات؛ مما سهل التحاق الخريجين المتميزين في كافة البرامج بها لاستكمال الدراسة الجامعية والحصول على درجة البكالوريوس والماجستير والدكتوراة من هذه الجامعات، إضافة إلى الحصول على دبلومات تخصصية في بعض المجالات المهنية.
وعلى مدى السنوات العشر الماضية توسع التعاون بين هذه الجامعات ومعاهد الوزارة الصحة، وأبرمت اتفاقيات مع العديد منها، وتم تصميم وتنفيذ بعض البرامج التخصصية بتعاون مشترك بينها ومعاهد وزارة الصحة ذات العلاقة؛ حيث تم مؤخراً استحداث برنامج بكالوريوس تمريض بإشراف من جامعة كاردف بالمملكة المتحدة، وبرنامج العلاج الطبيعي بإشراف من جامعة جلاسكوا كالادونيا باسكوتلاندا.